## **Press Release**



11/2023

Annette Barthelt Foundation takes a stance for marine research 2023 Science Prizes honour female marine scientists for research on ecosystem boundaries and interactions between ocean and atmosphere

17.03.2023/Kiel. Two female marine scientists receive the Annette Barthelt Prize for their outstanding theses. This year's winners are Dr. Cora Hörstmann with her dissertation on microbial biodiversity in different marine areas and Anna Christina Hans with her Master's

Professor Dr Anya Waite at Dalhousie University, Canada, and Alfred Wegener Institute, Helmholtz Centre for Polar and Marine Research (AWI), Dr Uwe John from AWI and Professor Dr Matthias Ullrich from Jacobs University Bremen. The marine researcher volunteers for international and interdisciplinary cooperation within the framework of the United Nations Decade of Ocean Research for Sustainable Development and is currently working as a post-doctoral researcher at the Mediterranean Institute of Oceanography (MIO) in France.

Anna Christina Hans' master's thesis focused on ocean-atmosphere interactions and their effects on diurnal variation in the upper 15 metres of the ocean. The thesis entitled Diurnal cycle of near-surface shear, stratification and mixing in the equatorial Atlantic was supervised at GEOMAR by Professor Dr Peter Brandt and Professor Dr Martin Claus. Anna Christina Hans obtained her data during a research cruise in the equatorial Atlantic. There she deployed various drifters that measure ocean currents. Together with wind data and other en-route measurements obtained during the